Breadcrumb navigation

Portage Ceramic Awards 2017

10 Nov 2017 - 11 Feb 2018

  • Andrea du Chatenier. Untitled (blue tower). Photo by Haruhiko Sameshima
  • Cheryl Lucas. Milkstock. Photo by Haruhiko Sameshima

Friday 10 November 2017, 10.00am - Sunday 11 February 2018, 4.30pm

  • Exhibition open: 10 Nov – 11 Feb
  • Gallery hours: Mon-Sun, 10am-4.30pm

Te Uru Waitakere Contemporary Gallery, 420 Titirangi Road, Titirangi, Auckland

Show map


09 817 8087


As an annual update on the state of ceramic practices in Aotearoa, the Portage Ceramic Awards provides insights on current directions and future possibilities.

Established in 2001, the awards are a hallmark event for the New Zealand ceramics community, showcasing some of the best contemporary work, and serving as a platform for dialogue about developments in the ceramics field.

Whanganui-based curator and writer, Emma Bugden, is the 2017 judge and will select finalists and winners for this year’s event, organised and hosted by Te Uru with support from The Trusts Community Foundation.

This year's finalists are:

Greg Barron, Owen Bartlett, Blue Black, Tony Bond, Maak Bow, Phil Brooks, Annette Bull, Rachel Carter, Madeleine Child, Peter Collis, Bronwynne Cornish, Ann Crane, Bridgit Day, Andrea du Chatenier, Lang Ea, Kate Fitzharris, Mel Ford, Yasmin Franzmayr-Davis, Grancy Fu, Jacquelyn Greenbank, Kairava Gullatz, Philip Jarvis, Jinho Jeong, Chuck Joseph, Temmina Kuijpers, Peter Lange, Virginia Leonard, Cheryl Lucas, Paul Maseyk, Gaeleen Morley, Kiya Nancarrow, John Parker, Michael Potter, Robert Rapson, Vivian Rodríguez, John Roy, Rick Rudd, Amanda Shanley, Liz Sharek, Duncan Shearer, Janet Smith, Gary Stewart, Richard Stratton, Christine Thacker, Stephan Thomas, Janna van Hasselt, Chris Weaver, Sarah Wigley and Helen Yau.

For Portage-related information and events, visit Portage or follow our Facebook page. Visit the Auckland Festival of Ceramics Facebook page for information on further festival events.