Breadcrumb navigation

The Cherry Orchard

12 Jun 2018 - 26 Jun 2018

When

Tuesday 12 June 2018, 7.00pm - Tuesday 12 June 2018, 9.00pm

Wednesday 13 June 2018, 7.00pm - Wednesday 13 June 2018, 9.00pm

Thursday 14 June 2018, 8.00pm - Thursday 14 June 2018, 10.00pm

Friday 15 June 2018, 8.00pm - Friday 15 June 2018, 10.00pm

Saturday 16 June 2018, 8.00pm - Saturday 16 June 2018, 10.00pm

Tuesday 19 June 2018, 7.00pm - Tuesday 19 June 2018, 9.00pm

Wednesday 20 June 2018, 7.00pm - Wednesday 20 June 2018, 9.00pm

Thursday 21 June 2018, 8.00pm - Thursday 21 June 2018, 10.00pm

Friday 22 June 2018, 8.00pm - Friday 22 June 2018, 10.00pm

Saturday 23 June 2018, 2.00pm - Saturday 23 June 2018, 4.00pm

Saturday 23 June 2018, 8.00pm - Saturday 23 June 2018, 10.00pm

Sunday 24 June 2018, 4.00pm - Sunday 24 June 2018, 6.00pm

Tuesday 26 June 2018, 7.00pm - Tuesday 26 June 2018, 9.00pm

Where

ASB Waterfront Theatre, 138 Halsey Street, Wynyard Quarter, Auckland

Show map

Cost

$30-$67

Bookings

nz.patronbase.com/_ATC2/Productions/18CO/Performances

boxoffice@atc.co.nz

0800 ATC TIX (0800 282 849)

Website

atc.co.nz/auckland-theatre-company/2017-18/the-cherry-orchard

The Gayev family are sociable, intelligent, caring and hopelessly in debt.

Unless they can find the funds, their huge estate, including its much-loved cherry orchard, will go to a mortgagee auction.

The entrepreneurial son of their ex-farmhand offers them a solution, but they baulk at his proposal.

Racked by indecision and unable to comprehend the huge social changes on the horizon, they spend one last summer on their beautiful country property, conjuring memories of the past to mask their fears of the future.

Anton Chekhov remains one of the world’s greatest and most compassionate playwrights.

His final masterpiece, The Cherry Orchard, is a tragicomedy: a laughter-through-tears tale told by sad clowns and self-made men.

Though it premiered in pre-revolution Russia, its prophetic passion and intimations of the social upheaval to come have a striking resonance for a modern audience in times of change.

Bask in the timely and timeless brilliance of this immortal theatre classic.

What’s past is prologue. Make a date with history and book now!