Breadcrumb navigation

The Walters Prize 2018

18 Aug 2018 - 26 Jan 2019


Saturday 18 August 2018, 10.00am - Saturday 26 January 2019, 5.00pm

Gallery hours: 10am-5pm daily (except Christmas Day)


Auckland Art Gallery, corner Kitchener and Wellesley streets, Auckland CBD

Show map


Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki

09 307 7700


New Zealand's contemporary art award, the Walters Prize returns to the gallery in 2018 for its ninth iteration.

Named in honour of pioneering modernist painter Gordon Walters (1919-1995), the Walters Prize is awarded for an outstanding work of contemporary New Zealand art produced and exhibited during the past two years.

The biennial prize aims to make contemporary art a more widely recognised and debated feature of cultural life.

The four artworks nominated by this year’s jury as representing the most outstanding contributions to contemporary art in New Zealand in the preceding two-year period are:

  • BAD VISUAL SYSTEMS, 2016, by Ruth Buchanan
  • The Making of Mississippi Grind 2017, 2017, by Jacqueline Fraser
  • Whol Why Wurld, 2017, by Jess Johnson and Simon Ward
  • Fāgogo, 2016, by Pati Solomona Tyrell.
The Walters Prize 2018
The Walters Prize 2018 nominees

Previous winners were:

  • Yvonne Todd for Asthma and Eczema (2002), et al. for restricted access (2004)
  • Francis Upritchard for Doomed, Doomed, All Doomed (2006)
  • Peter Robinson for ACK (2008)
  • Dan Arps for Explaining Things (2010)
  • Kate Newby for Crawl out your window (2012)
  • Luke Willis Thompson for Inthisholeonthisislandwhereiam (2014)
  • Shannon Te Ao for Two shoots that stretch far out and Okea ururoatia (never say die) (2016).