Breadcrumb navigation

Astroman

16 Mar 2019 - 06 Apr 2019

When

Saturday 16 March 2019, 8.00pm - Saturday 16 March 2019, 10.30pm

Sunday 17 March 2019, 4.00pm - Sunday 17 March 2019, 6.30pm

Tuesday 19 March 2019, 6.30pm - Tuesday 19 March 2019, 9.00pm

Wednesday 20 March 2019, 6.30pm - Wednesday 20 March 2019, 9.00pm

Thursday 21 March 2019, 8.00pm - Thursday 21 March 2019, 10.30pm

Friday 22 March 2019, 8.00pm - Friday 22 March 2019, 10.30pm

Saturday 23 March 2019, 2.00pm - Saturday 23 March 2019, 2.00pm

Saturday 23 March 2019, 8.00pm - Saturday 23 March 2019, 10.30pm

Sunday 24 March 2019, 4.00pm - Sunday 24 March 2019, 6.30pm

Tuesday 26 March 2019, 6.30pm - Tuesday 26 March 2019, 9.00pm

Wednesday 27 March 2019, 6.30pm - Wednesday 27 March 2019, 9.00pm

Thursday 28 March 2019, 8.00pm - Thursday 28 March 2019, 10.30pm

Friday 29 March 2019, 8.00pm - Friday 29 March 2019, 10.30pm

Saturday 30 March 2019, 2.00pm - Saturday 30 March 2019, 4.30pm

Saturday 30 March 2019, 8.00pm - Saturday 30 March 2019, 10.30pm

Sunday 31 March 2019, 4.00pm - Sunday 31 March 2019, 6.30pm

Tuesday 2 April 2019, 6.30pm - Tuesday 2 April 2019, 9.00pm

Wednesday 3 April 2019, 6.30pm - Wednesday 3 April 2019, 9.00pm

Thursday 4 April 2019, 8.00pm - Thursday 4 April 2019, 10.30pm

Friday 5 April 2019, 8.00pm - Friday 5 April 2019, 10.30pm

Saturday 6 April 2019, 8.00pm - Saturday 6 April 2019, 10.30pm

Where

Q Theatre, 305 Queen Street, Auckland CBD

Show map

Rangatira

Cost

$30-$67

Booking fees may apply

Bookings

nz.patronbase.com/_QTheatre/Productions/9085/Performances

09 309 8324

Website

aucklandfestival.co.nz/events/astroman

atc.co.nz/auckland-theatre-company/2018-19/astroman

facebook.com/Aklfestival

twitter.com/Aklfestival

Presented by Auckland Arts Festival, Auckland Theatre Company and Te Rēhia Theatre Company for Auckland Arts Festival 2019.

"Aw kia ora you fulliz, my name’s Hemi Te Rehua, but everybody just calls me Jim. Welcome to Whakatāne!"

It’s 1983 and it’s on like Donkey Kong! Young Hemi ‘Jimmy’ Te Rehua is the king of the Whakatāne Astrocade Amusement Parlour.

But, while there’s no limit to his domination of the Pac-Man and Galaga high score charts, this boy genius hasn’t yet worked out how to beat the game of life.

With the help of the Astrocade’s grouchy owner and his plucky mum, Jimmy learns how to stand up to bullies and what it really means to be brave.

Charming and hilarious, this heartwarming throwback to the decade of Poi E, Michael Jackson, and Spacies arcades oozes sweet 80s nostalgia and the good old times of growing up in small-town Aotearoa.

In the spirit of classic coming-of-age movies Stand by Me, The Karate Kid, and Boy, Astroman’s touching Kiwiana story of family, friendship, and courage will have you reaching for the stars. A fun-filled retro comedy for the young and young-at-heart.

Recommended for ages 13+. Contains strong language.

Early bird tickets available until midnight Friday 22 February. 

Concession prices apply for full-time students, members of recognised entertainment industry associations, Community Services Card holders and people 25 years old or younger. Presentation of an appropriate ID will be required.

Sign up for OurAuckland E-news

Sign up for OurAuckland E-news so you don't miss out on information about events like this happening across Auckland every week, plus local and regional news, and lots of great giveaways.