Breadcrumb navigation

Twelve to run in Auckland by-elections

Published: 22 December 2017

Nominations have closed for the Waitematā and Manurewa Local Board by-elections and the Maungakiekie-Tāmaki Ward by-election with twelve candidates putting their hands up to fill the three vacant seats.

The candidates for Maungakiekie-Tāmaki Ward by-election are:

  • Josephine Bartley (Labour)
  • Josh Beddell (C&R/Auckland Future)

The candidates for Waitematā Local Board by-election are:

  • Morgan Avery (Independent)
  • Chang Hung (Independent)
  • Allan Matson (Independent)
  • Greg Moyle (Balancing the Board)
  • Denise Roche (City Vision)

The candidates for Manurewa Local Board by-election are:

  • Jokaveti Nakabea Bai
  • Michael Bailey (Independent)
  • John Hall (Independent)
  • Brooke Loader (Labour)
  • Dave Pizzini (Manurewa Action Team)

Voting documents will be delivered from 26 January 2018 to enrolled electors in the Manurewa Local Board, the Waitematā Local Board and the Maungakiekie-Tāmaki Ward areas. Postal voting opens on 26 January 2018 and closes on 17 February 2018.

Click here for more information on the by-elections. Candidate profiles will be available online from 9 January 2018.