Breadcrumb navigation

Papakura youth scholarship winners inspire

Published: 20 March 2018
Some of the Papakura Youth Scholarship recipients with Papakura Local Board deputy chair Felicity Auva'a (front row on the right).

Tweet this quote Share Share this

Papakura Youth Scholarship winners announced.

The latest group of Papakura Youth Scholarship recipients have aspirations to become paramedics, lawyers, chefs and sailors.

Papakura Local Board Deputy Chair Felicity Auva’a said that reading the applications was inspiring. She was joined by Papakura Youth Council chair Kyanna Hetaraka-Rua in presenting the scholarships.

“As a board we want to support and encourage the young people of Papakura, our future leaders, to succeed and we will be watching them with interest and admiration as they continue their journeys,” she said.

She was also impressed by the range of careers, training and activities applicants were undertaking from trades, vocational training and university studies through to leadership courses.

A total of 26 applications were received, with 17 scholarships awarded.   

Papakura Youth Scholarship 2018 recipients 

  • Ashleigh Smith
  • Yasbel Regino
  • Josephine Dayberg
  • Nicola Campbell
  • Charithma Rajapaske
  • Kurdistan Othmani
  • Allie Zohoori-Dossa
  • Caleb Pahina
  • Jacqueline Paul
  • Kyla Parker
  • Hritika Ghaiee
  • Amber Tuigamala
  • Kim Fowler
  • Paolo Jan-Rafael Aquino
  • Payaal KumarShar Matafeo
  • Marcus Ruawhere
  • Rachel Biggelaar.
Papakura youth inspire2
Shar Matafeo.

About the Papakura Youth Scholarships

The scholarships are offered by the Papakura Local Board in association with the Papakura Youth Council. They are open to people 14 to 24 years of age who live in the Papakura Local Board area. 

Up to $2000 was available to recipients requiring financial support to attend tertiary study, vocational training or attend a conference or a leadership development course in 2018.