Breadcrumb navigation

Maria Meredith wins Maungakiekie-Tāmaki Local Board (Tāmaki subdivision) by-election

Published: 24 May 2018

Following a by-election, Maria Meredith has been elected as a local board member representing the Tāmaki sub-division on the Maungakiekie-Tāmaki Local Board of Auckland Council. 

Electoral Officer Dale Ofsoske announced the voting results as:

  1. Maria Meredith (Labour), 2566 votes
  2. Todd Morah,  1220 votes
  3. Leanne Cross (Independent), 748 votes
  4. Hainoame Tutama Fulivai (Independent), 597 votes
  5. Patrick O’Meara, 313 votes
  6. Thomas Rawiri, 254 votes
  7. Annalucia Vermunt (Communist League), 106 votes

The Maungakiekie-Tāmaki Local Board Tāmaki sub-division area encompasses Glen Innes, Point England, Tamaki and Panmure. The by-election followed the election of Josephine Bartley to the Maungakiekie-Tamaki Ward.

Of the 30,423 electors who were issued a voting document, 5,835 (19%) voted.

Ms Meredith will be sworn in at the next Maungakiekie-Tāmaki local board meeting on Tuesday 26 June.