Breadcrumb navigation

Talented artists acknowledged at inaugural awards night

Published: 9 July 2018
Māngere-Ōtāhuhu Local Board Youth Arts Scholarship recipients with local board members Christine O'Brien (far left) and Tafafuna'i Tasi Lauese (inside left) and Lemauga Lydia Sosene (far right).

The inaugural Māngere-Ōtāhuhu Local Board Youth Arts Scholarship awards were presented to eight up-and-coming artists at a special ceremony at the Mangere Arts Centre – Ngā Tohu o Uenuku this month.

Māngere-Ōtāhuhu Local Board has funded the scholarship to give the area’s many talented creatives ways to access training and mentoring opportunities to take their skills to the next level.

Māngere-Ōtāhuhu Local Board Chair Lemauga Lydia Sosene says her board has advocated for many years to see the creative young people of Māngere and Ōtāhuhu given more support and is pleased to deliver on this long-held aim.

“Our young creatives have struggled in the past to get the recognition they deserve. It is important to have a special focus to support our local emerging artists to allow them to discover their potential,” Lemauga Lydia Sosene says.

“Forty-five per cent of the Māngere-Ōtāhuhu population is aged under 24. The local board is committed to supporting our youth and these awards ensure we nurture and enhance that talent. 

“I would also like to extend my thanks to our dedicated arts broker and Auckland Council staff for helping the board provide this opportunity for these young people.”

The scholarships provide financial assistance to those aged 14-24 undertaking formal study or extending/improving their practice or understanding of the arts.

The following recipients received support for a range of art-related activities:

  • Kalem Thompson – Photography equipment
  • Henley Kesha – Arts supplies
  • Timothy Sanvictores – Music lessons and equipment
  • Mele Tapueluelu – Support for dance resources
  • Dean Purcell – Arts Degree majoring in Music and Pacific Studies & Digital Creativity Foundation Programme – Media Design School
  • Mafi Tausala – Digital Creativity Foundation Programme – Media Design School
  • Anzac Riki – Arts materials
  • Natalia Ngamihi Avei Ioane – University of Auckland dance tour

Read more:

Arts Manukau