Media contacts

The contact details below are for journalists and other media professionals.

Auckland Council media contacts

Auckland Civil Defence and Emergency Management

During an emergency response or civil defence emergency, the Public Information Management (PIM) duty phone will be activated. Please phone 021 837 176 to speak to the PIM duty manager.

At all other times, for general Auckland Civil Defence and Emergency Management inquiries, please contact Joanna Glasswell in the Auckland Council media team.

Auckland Council media team

Please direct your media query to the contact listed below.

If you are unsure, or your query doesn't fit into one of the categories, please contact katherine.forbes@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz.

If you have an urgent query between 5pm Friday and 8.30am Monday, phone the on-call number on 021 199 00 55.

Please note that only time-sensitive media queries will be managed over the weekend and others will be responded to on Monday.

These contact details are for use by members of the media only. If you are a member of the public, please contact the Auckland Council call centre on 09 301 0101.

Katherine Forbes, Media Relations Manager

Phone: 021 872 680
Email: katherine.forbes@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz

Contact for:

  • Planning
  • Housing

Joanna Glasswell, Senior Media Adviser

Phone: 021 221 9279
Email: joanna.glasswell@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz

Contact for:

  • Resource Consents
  • Building Control
  • Waste
  • Cemeteries
  • Civil Defence
  • SkyPath

Michael Smith, Senior Media Adviser

Phone: 021 538 940
Email: Michael.a.smith@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz

Contact for:

  • Governance
  • Parks
  • Community Facilities (including Community Places and Community Empowerment)
  • Pools & Leisure

Jess Etheridge, Media Adviser

Phone: 021 895 847
Email: jessica.etheridge@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz

Contact for:

  • Finance (including procurement)
  • Treasury
  • Information Services (IT), including NewCore
  • Healthy Waters (stormwater)
  • Biosecurity & Biodiversity

Sam Baxter, Media Adviser

Phone: 021 718 665
Email: samuel.baxter@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz

Contact for:

  • Animal Management
  • Bylaws
  • Libraries
  • Licencing & Compliance (Animal Management, Environmental Health, including Noise Control, Alcohol Licensing)
  • Arts, Culture & Events
  • People & Capability (HR)

Office of the Mayor

Director of Communications & External Relations
Mike Burgess
Phone: 021 823 936
Email: michael.burgess@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz

CCO media contacts

Auckland Transport

Communications and Public Affairs Manager
Wally Thomas
Phone: 021 593 412
Email: wally.thomas@aucklandtransport.govt.nz

Media Relations Manager
Mark Hannan
Phone: 021 817 995
Email: mark.hannan@aucklandtransport.govt.nz

Media Adviser
James Ireland
Phone: 021 531 051
Email: james.ireland@at.govt.nz


Auckland Tourism, Events and Economic Development

Screen, film, investment, tripartite and corporate enquiries
Lester Thorley
Phone: 021 829 741
Email: lester.thorley@aucklandnz.com

Business growth, innovation, skills
Duncan Croft 
Phone: 021 827 046
Email: duncan.croft@aucklandnz.com

Major events
Melanya Burrows
Phone; 021 986 710
Email: melanya.burrows@aucklandnz.com

Tourism, Auckland Convention Bureau, iSITEs
Anika Forsman
Phone: 022 026 1130
Email: anika.forsman@aucklandnz.com


Panuku Development Auckland

Senior Communications and Marketing Adviser
Melanie Roberts
Phone: 022 370 1756
Email: Melanie.Roberts@developmentauckland.co.nz


Regional Facilities Auckland

External relations director
Paul Brewer
Phone: 021 532 920
Email: paul.brewer@rfal.co.nz


Watercare Services

Communications Manager
Ramari Young
Phone: 022 011 2836
Email: communications@water.co.nz