Breadcrumb navigation

January Holiday Programme: Waka Huia

13 Jan 2020 - 24 Jan 2020

When

Monday 13 January 2020, 10.30am - Friday 24 January 2020, 2.00pm

Tuesday 14 January 2020, 10.30am - Tuesday 14 January 2020, 2.00pm

Wednesday 15 January 2020, 10.30am - Wednesday 15 January 2020, 2.00pm

Thursday 16 January 2020, 10.30am - Thursday 16 January 2020, 2.00pm

Friday 17 January 2020, 10.30am - Friday 17 January 2020, 2.00pm

Monday 20 January 2020, 10.30am - Monday 20 January 2020, 2.00pm

Tuesday 21 January 2020, 10.30am - Tuesday 21 January 2020, 2.00pm

Wednesday 22 January 2020, 10.30am - Wednesday 22 January 2020, 2.00pm

Thursday 23 January 2020, 10.30am - Thursday 23 January 2020, 2.00pm

Friday 24 January 2020, 10.30am - Friday 24 January 2020, 2.00pm


13-24 Jan, 10.30am-2pm (weekdays only)

Where

New Zealand Maritime Museum, corner Quay and Hobson streets, Viaduct Harbour, Auckland City Centre

Show map

Cost

$5

Contact

bookings@maritimemuseum.co.nz

09 373 0800

Website

maritimemuseum.co.nz/events/january-holiday-programme-waka-huia

Make your own waka huia treasure box designed by artist Reweti Arapere, then create a special item of treasure to store inside.

What kind of items were exchanged during early encounters between Māori and Europeans? How were items valued in different cultures?

Learn more about early trade and exchange in Aotearoa by creating your own treasures to trade.

Related

Kids turn trash into treasure

Mayor Phil Goff was on hand in Papakura to see Junky Monkeys, which turns items that would have been dumped into play equipment, in action.

Investigation Station – Summer School Holiday Fun

Become a Stardome Chief Investigator and dig into all things plant and bug life.

Beat the summer reading slump with Kia Māia te Whai Dare to Explore

Summer is a great time for kids. The school holidays bring sun, fun and loads of great activities.