Breadcrumb navigation

Phil Goff has been elected Mayor of Auckland

Published: 8 October 2016

Auckland has a new mayor.

Phil Goff has won the Auckland mayoralty with 179,206 votes, 47.6 per cent of votes counted to date. His nearest rival Vic Crone received 105,413 votes, Election Officer Dale Ofsoske said in releasing the progress result.

Auckland Council’s Governance Director Phil Wilson phoned Mr Goff just after 1.30pm, an hour and a half after the election closed, to advise that he had won the mayoralty, ahead of 18 other candidates.

Mr Ofsoske also confirmed that, with 95 per cent of votes counted, five new ward councillors had been elected to join 15 returning councillors.

Sitting councillors who lost their seats include Calum Penrose who was beaten by Daniel Newman in the Manurewa-Papakura ward and Penny Webster who lost to Greg Sayers in the Rodney ward.

In the North Shore ward, the result is too close to call, with Richard Hills just 71 votes ahead of Grant Gillon.

See the progress results, including local board and licensing trusts on the Auckland Council website.

A preliminary election result, including district health board results, will be published on Sunday 9 October. The official result which will confirm the special vote tally will be released late on Thursday afternoon 13 October.