Breadcrumb navigation

Eleven to run in Auckland by-elections

Published: 29 March 2018

Nominations have closed for the Waitākere Ranges and Maungakiekie-Tāmaki (Tāmaki Subdivision) local board by-elections with 11 candidates putting their hands up to fill the vacant seats.

The candidates for Waitākere Ranges Local Board by-election are:

  • Michelle Clayton (Independent)
  • Tiaria Fletcher (Future West)
  • Rob Gore
  • Ken Turner (WestWards)

The candidates for Maungakiekie-Tāmaki (Tāmaki Subdivision) Local Board by-election are:

  • Leanne Cross (Independent)
  • Hainoame Tutama Fulivai (Independent)
  • Maria Meredith (Labour)
  • Todd Morrah
  • Patrick O’Meara
  • Thomas Rawiri
  • Annalucia Vermunt (Communist League)

Voting documents will be delivered from Wednesday 2 May 2018 to enrolled electors in the Waitākere Ranges and Maungakiekie-Tāmaki (Tāmaki Subdivision) local board areas.

Postal voting opens on 2 May and closes at 12 noon on Thursday 24 May. 

Click here for more information on the by-elections and candidate profiles.



Building a resilient city

Over the past year, strengthening of a 600-metre section of the seawall has been underway; the first significant strengthening work to be done to the seawall since it was completed in 1925.

Fresh chance to stand in two Auckland local board by-elections

Interested in representing your community and influencing decisions that affect your local area and make Auckland a great place to live?

Tamariki Time

Develop your toddler's cognitive skills through story time, song, dance and play.