Breadcrumb navigation

New chairs for local boards

Published: 18 May 2018

At six local boards across Auckland, six board members are stepping up to become chairs.

Chairing a local board is a big responsibility, and some boards have decided to have one chair for the first 18 months of the three-year term, then a new chair for the next 18 months.

Apart from Josephine Bartley, who left her position as chair of Maungakiekie-Tāmaki Local Board to become councillor for Maungakiekie-Tāmaki, all chairs who are stepping down are still part of their local board – either as a board member or deputy chair.

New chairs and deputies:

Devonport -Takapuna: New chair George Wood took over from Grant Gillon on 23 April 2018. Grant Gillon is now deputy chair.

Kaipātiki: New chair John Gillon took over from Danielle Grant on 1 March 2018. Danielle Grant is now deputy chair.

Maungakiekie-Tāmaki: New chair Chris Makoare took over from Josephine Bartley on 23 April 2018. Deputy chair is now Debbie Burrows, and Bernie Diver will take over as deputy chair on 29 October 2018.

Ōrākei: New chair Kit Parkinson took over from Colin Davis on 17 May 2018. Carmel Claridge is now deputy chair.

Upper Harbour: New chair Margaret Miles takes over from Lisa Whyte on 2 June 2018. Lisa Whyte will be deputy chair.

Waiheke: New chair Cath Handley took over from Paul Walden on 23 April 2018. Paul Walden is now deputy chair.


Community digs the upgrade to Northcote’s Greenslade Reserve

Hundreds of children came to Digger Day on 28 September to see the plans to transform Greenslade Reserve into a multi-purpose outdoor facility.

North Shore youth innovation hub to open early 2020

Shore Junction youth innovation hub to open next year.

Free Ranger Guided Walk – Kennedy Park and Rahopara Pa

Explore the WW11 gun emplacements and tunnels as well as the ancient Māori pā site on this walk.