Breadcrumb navigation

Preliminary list of Auckland local election candidates now available

Published: 17 August 2019

The preliminary list of Auckland Council local election candidates has been published on the website. 

There are 21 mayoral candidates, 54 people vying for councillor roles, and 342 people contesting local board positions.

Two of the 13 wards - Franklin and Rodney - only have one candidate on the preliminary list. If there is no change to the final list (publicly notified on 21 August) there will be no contest for these wards and current councillors Bill Cashmore and Greg Sayers will be re-elected unopposed.

There are also 83 candidates for the three Auckland DHBs (compared to 72 in 2016) and 61 candidates for the five licensing trusts (compared to 63 in 2016).

Auckland Council consists of a mayor, 20 councillors and 149 local board members. A total of 468 candidates stood for council in 2016.

Key dates

21 August - Public notification of candidates

26 August - Candidate profiles published on the elections website

20 September - Voting opens

8 October - Last day to post voting papers (ballot boxes will still be open)

12 October - Voting closes at midday

17 October to 23 October - Official results announced