Breadcrumb navigation

Mangemangeroa plans adopted

Published: 11 October 2019

Howick Local Board has adopted three plans to safeguard the future of the Mangemangeroa Valley.

Three plans have been adopted; a development plan, a restoration plan, and a geotechnical instability risk assessment.

The development plan steers maintenance and renewal of existing assets, including pathways, bush tracks and signage, while the restoration plan updates an earlier plan to reflect current practices and techniques. The geotechnical report divides the land into three areas and identifies instability across the six connected reserves.

The board has also allocated $4000 for site preparation work for restoration planting during the 2019/2020 year.

Mangemangeroa Valley is a popular visitor attraction that provides a bush and coastal walking experience through six connected local parks spanning more than five kilometres, all actively maintained by the Friends of Mangemangeroa.

Howick Local Board has invested heavily in the area in recent years, including $130,000 in 2016 for the Mangemangeroa Environmental Education Facility Trust to determine the viability of developing an education facility and visitor centre.

The board also provided $55,000 last year to prepare the development plan and update the 2006 restoration plan, and $20,000 for geotechnical studies which focus on ways to reduce landslips.

A series of slips between 2016 and 2018 resulted in the closure of sections of the Mangemangeroa Valley Walkway, prompting work on the development and restoration plans.


School Holiday Fun at Pakuranga Plaza

Bring the kids down to Pakuranga Plaza these school holidays for loads of free school holiday fun.

Finalists named for 2020 Howick Sports Awards

More than sixty finalists have been shortlisted for the 2020 Howick Sports Awards for the last year’s season.

Have your say on your community’s future

From 13 July, local boards are inviting Aucklanders to give them feedback on their draft local board plans to make sure they reflect what is important to you.