Breadcrumb navigation

Chair and director appointed to Auckland Transport board

Published: 18 December 2019

Auckland Council has appointed Adrienne Young-Cooper as the new chair of Auckland Transport and Darren Linton as a board director starting from 1 January 2020.

The council’s Appointments and Performance Review Committee approved the two appointments at its 5 December meeting following a rigorous selection process that considered several highly qualified and experienced candidates.

Adrienne Young-Cooper’s past and present governance roles span large infrastructure projects, housing and urban growth and transport. She is the chair of Panuku Development Auckland and will keep that position in the short term, alongside her new role as chair of Auckland Transport.

Mayor Phil Goff, who chairs the Appointments and Performance Review Committee, says Ms Young-Cooper’s appointment brings invaluable knowledge and skills to Auckland Transport’s board.

“Adrienne is a highly qualified and respected chair and director with 30 years of public sector experience. Her in-depth knowledge and understanding of Auckland’s challenges and about transport and its role in supporting housing development made her a standout candidate.

“Transport and housing are two of Auckland’s biggest growth challenges. To build a modern and successful city where people want to live, we need solutions that integrate transport choice with housing needs. Adrienne will bring this combined perspective across the work of two of our key council-controlled organisations.”

Ms Young-Cooper has been the chair and deputy chair of Housing NZ, chair and director of Homes, Land and Communities (HLC), board director of the NZ Transport Agency and deputy chair of the Auckland Regional Transport Authority and Waterfront Auckland.

In addition, Darren Linton, Chief Executive of Yellow NZ, has also been appointed as a board director of Auckland Transport.

The two appointments are for a three-year term beginning from 1 January 2020 until 31 October 2023.

The Appointments and Performance Review Committee is responsible for all appointments to the boards of council-controlled organisations.