Breadcrumb navigation

New Auckland Transport board members announced

Published: 11 December 2020

Auckland Council has announced the appointments of Tommy Parker and Abbie Reynolds as new board members of its council-controlled organisation, Auckland Transport.

The council’s Appointments and Performance Review (APR) Committee approved the appointments at its 1 December 2020 meeting. The appointments are for a three-year term which began on 2 December 2020 until 31 October 2023.

Auckland Mayor Phil Goff, who chairs the APR Committee, has welcomed the appointments.

“These appointees have the requisite technical, governance, and political knowledge and experience that we need on the boards of our council-controlled organisations.

“Tommy Parker’s experience in transport, urban planning and infrastructure over 30 years will complement Abbie Reynolds’ background in climate action strategy to ensure that Auckland Transport helps to deliver Auckland Council’s climate change goals.”

Tommy Parker is the Australasian Consultancy Leader for global firm Arup. He has nearly 30 years of experience in transport and urban planning and engineering in New Zealand and the United Kingdom. His previous roles include General Manager Infrastructure at Fletcher Construction and 13 years working at Waka Kotahi NZ Transport Agency, including as Group Manager for Highway and Network Operations.

Tommy has chaired the New Zealand Construction Industry Zero Harm Group and North Canterbury Transport Infrastructure Recovery, the recovery alliance to restore infrastructure following the Kaikōura earthquake.

Abbie Reynolds is a nationally respected advocate for climate change response and sustainability in business. She is chief executive of Predator Free 2050 Ltd and formerly Executive Director of the Sustainable Business Council.

Abbie’s governance and advisory roles include board member of Sustainable Coastlines and VOYCE - Whakarongo Mai, a member of the government’s Electric Vehicle Leadership Group, the Westpac NZ Sustainability Advisory Panel and a member of the Prime Minister’s Chief Science Advisor’s panel on rethinking plastics.  

Abbie’s board member role includes a focus on climate action and transport and will also positively contribute to the council’s overall climate strategy.

The APR Committee is responsible for all appointments to the boards of council-controlled organisations, in accordance with the council’s Appointment and Remuneration Policy for Board Members and the Local Government Act.