They Covered the House in Stories

Where

Te Tuhi, 13 Reeves Road, Pakuranga, Auckland

Show map

When

Tuesday 3 August 2021
Wednesday 4 August 2021
Thursday 5 August 2021
Friday 6 August 2021
Saturday 7 August 2021
Sunday 8 August 2021
Monday 9 August 2021
Tuesday 10 August 2021
Wednesday 11 August 2021
Thursday 12 August 2021
Friday 13 August 2021
Saturday 14 August 2021
Sunday 15 August 2021
Monday 16 August 2021
Tuesday 17 August 2021
Wednesday 18 August 2021
Thursday 19 August 2021
Friday 20 August 2021
Saturday 21 August 2021
Sunday 22 August 2021
Show More

9am-5pm

Te Tuhi is open daily 9am-5pm (closed on public holidays)


Cost

Free

Contact

Te Tuhi
info@tetuhi.art
09 577 0138

They covered the house in stories
Xin Cheng, Eleanor Cooper touching the overflow of Pupuke Moana at Thorne Bay, 2020. Courtesy of the artist.

Artists:

  • Bridget Reweti (Aotearoa NZ)
  • Eleanor Cooper (Aotearoa NZ)
  • George Watson (Aotearoa NZ)
  • Xin Cheng (Aotearoa NZ)

Taking its title from the novel The Stolen Bicycle by Taiwanese author and environmental activist Wu Ming Yi, They covered the house in stories is an exhibition that explores notions of land and place through the ecological and literary imagination.

In Wu’s novel, the protagonist embarks on a search for his father’s stolen bicycle, bringing him into contact with the region’s entangled histories of human and more-than-human displacement.

Told through the linguistic polyphony of Taiwan’s local dialects, the novel surfaces inexplicable events and temporal dissonances that threaten the relationship between history and recollection.

Featuring newly commissioned works by Xin Cheng, Eleanor Cooper, Bridget Reweti and George Watson, They covered the house in stories embraces narrative multiplicity, examining sites of occupation to reveal the interdependence of Tāmaki’s waterway ecosystems and the lingering gaze of colonialism upon the landscape in Aotearoa and beyond.

About Amy Weng

Amy Weng is an art writer, editor and independent curator based in Tāmaki Makaurau Auckland. She is the founder of Hainamana, a website dedicated to Asian New Zealand contemporary art and culture, and was the organiser of the inaugural Asian Aotearoa Artists Hui in 2017.

Back to Events