Exhibition: Ruth Cleland | Terrazzo

Where

Northart Gallery, Norman King Square, Ernie Mays Street, Northcote, Auckland

Show map

When

Tuesday 25 January 2022
10am-4pm


Wednesday 26 January 2022
10am-4pm


Thursday 27 January 2022
10am-4pm


Friday 28 January 2022
10am-4pm


Saturday 29 January 2022
11am-4pm


Sunday 30 January 2022
11am-4pm


Tuesday 1 February 2022
10am-4pm


Wednesday 2 February 2022
10am-4pm


Thursday 3 February 2022
10am-4pm


Friday 4 February 2022
10am-4pm


Saturday 5 February 2022
11am-4pm


Sunday 6 February 2022
11am-4pm


Tuesday 8 February 2022
10am-4pm


Wednesday 9 February 2022
10am-4pm


Thursday 10 February 2022
10am-4pm


Friday 11 February 2022
10am-4pm


Saturday 12 February 2022
11am-4pm


Sunday 13 February 2022
11am-4pm


Tuesday 15 February 2022
10am-4pm


Wednesday 16 February 2022
10am-4pm


Thursday 17 February 2022
10am-4pm


Friday 18 February 2022
10am-4pm


Saturday 19 February 2022
11am-4pm


Sunday 20 February 2022
11am-4pm


Tuesday 22 February 2022
10am-4pm


Wednesday 23 February 2022
10am-4pm


Thursday 24 February 2022
10am-4pm


Friday 25 February 2022
10am-4pm


Saturday 26 February 2022
11am-4pm


Sunday 27 February 2022
11am-4pm


Tuesday 1 March 2022
10am-4pm


Wednesday 2 March 2022
10am-4pm


Thursday 3 March 2022
10am-4pm


Friday 4 March 2022
10am-4pm


Saturday 5 March 2022
11am-4pm


Sunday 6 March 2022
11am-4pm


Show More


Cost

Free

Contact

staff@northart.co.nz
09 480 9633

Exhibition: Ruth Cleland | Terrazzo
Image: Ruth Cleland, 'Floor 3' detail, 2021, acrylic on board, image courtesy of the artist and Northart

Over the last five years Ruth Cleland has studied the floors, walls, and ceilings at her local supermarket and its adjacent car park.

For this exhibition, Cleland has selected paintings and drawings from this supermarket series that focus on the patchwork of terrazzo flooring featured in the refrigerated and bakery aisles.

Such details would likely go unnoticed as shoppers carry out their weekly routine in search of items to add to their trolley.

Cleland draws our attention to this well trodden surface by presenting a close-up view that oscillates between realism and abstraction; each stone chip, paint mark, stain, scuff, crack, and light reflection painstakingly rendered by hand.

This play between abstraction and the representational is further explored in two multi panel works where photorealist compositions are placed alongside panels featuring colour fields and grids.

Health and Safety procedures are in place at the gallery to ensure your visit to Northart is safe. 

Back to Events