Bayleys Great Classics: Slavonic Dances


Auckland Town Hall, 301 – 303 Queen Street, Auckland 1010

Show map


Thursday 24 February 2022



Concert tickets:

  • Adult $54-$136
  • Senior $49-$125
  • Student/child $28-$61
Bayleys Great Classics: Slavonic Dances

Conductor Giordano Bellincampi

Clarinet Jonathan Cohen

Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra

Mozart The Abduction from the Seraglio: Overture

Mozart Symphony No.38 ‘Prague’

Nielsen Clarinet Concerto

Dvořák Slavonic Dances (selections)


We continue our journey with Giordano Bellincampi through the music of Nielsen, with Jonathan Cohen, the APO’s Principal Clarinet. Nielsen wanted to explore the instrument’s soul, which he conceived as being complex and wide-ranging – ‘at once gentle as balm and screaming as a streetcar on poorly lubricated rails’.

The symphony Mozart composed for Prague is the greatest he had yet written. It is a piece whose ideas seem to burst out of it, and a fitting companion to the helter-skelter overture to his Turkish comedy.

A selection of Dvořák’s infectiously high-spirited Slavonic Dances will have us polka-ing out of the Town Hall.

Back to Events