Emily Karaka: Matariki Ring of Fire

Where

Te Uru Waitākere Contemporary Gallery, 420 Titirangi Road, Titirangi, Auckland

Show map

When

Saturday 20 August 2022
Sunday 21 August 2022
Tuesday 23 August 2022
Wednesday 24 August 2022
Thursday 25 August 2022
Friday 26 August 2022
Saturday 27 August 2022
Sunday 28 August 2022
Tuesday 30 August 2022
Wednesday 31 August 2022
Thursday 1 September 2022
Friday 2 September 2022
Saturday 3 September 2022
Sunday 4 September 2022
Tuesday 6 September 2022
Wednesday 7 September 2022
Thursday 8 September 2022
Friday 9 September 2022
Saturday 10 September 2022
Sunday 11 September 2022
Tuesday 13 September 2022
Wednesday 14 September 2022
Thursday 15 September 2022
Friday 16 September 2022
Saturday 17 September 2022
Sunday 18 September 2022
Show More

10am-4.30pm


Cost

Free

Contact

Te Uru Waitākere Contemporary Gallery
info@teuru.org.nz
09 817 8087

Emily Karaka: Matariki Ring of Fire
Sam Hartnett

Matariki Ring of Fire follows Emily Karaka’s 2021 McCahon House residency.

The exhibition centres on the festival of Matariki, which is being marked by a public holiday for the first time in 2022, the Matariki star cluster, and the fourteen Tūpuna Maunga of the Tāmaki Makaurau region.

Matariki represents a moment of reflection and renewal, with the whetū heralding ceremonies and the seasonal harvest.

Whānau, hapū, and iwi come together to celebrate life and share stories of those who have passed on.

Karaka depicts the Tūpuna Maunga as places of great significance, where ritual ahi (fires) were set during Matariki in times past.

Matariki Ring of Fire also acknowledges Karaka’s connection to Waikato-Tainui and the Kīngitanga.

A key inspiration for the show is the Matariki 2019 dawn ceremony at Pukekawa Auckland Domain, which she attended.

Presided over by Kīngi Tūheitia, the proceedings commenced in the dark and concluded with karakia as the sun rose.

The karakia took place before the ceremonial tree planted by Te Puea Hērangi with Paretutanganui Karaka.

The artist looked to the dawn sky and farewelled her great-nephew, Starr Karaka, who had been born and had passed away the day before, departing with the other ‘blessed souls’ on Te Waka o Rangi, bound for the heavens. Matariki Ring of Fire is dedicated to him.

Back to Events