Gilbert & George: The Tāmaki Makaurau Auckland Exhibition 2022

Where

Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki, corner Wellesley and Kitchener Streets, Auckland City Centre

Show map

When

Friday 12 August 2022
Saturday 13 August 2022
Sunday 14 August 2022
Monday 15 August 2022
Tuesday 16 August 2022
Wednesday 17 August 2022
Thursday 18 August 2022
Friday 19 August 2022
Saturday 20 August 2022
Sunday 21 August 2022
Monday 22 August 2022
Tuesday 23 August 2022
Wednesday 24 August 2022
Thursday 25 August 2022
Friday 26 August 2022
Saturday 27 August 2022
Sunday 28 August 2022
Monday 29 August 2022
Tuesday 30 August 2022
Wednesday 31 August 2022
Thursday 1 September 2022
Friday 2 September 2022
Saturday 3 September 2022
Sunday 4 September 2022
Monday 5 September 2022
Tuesday 6 September 2022
Wednesday 7 September 2022
Thursday 8 September 2022
Friday 9 September 2022
Saturday 10 September 2022
Sunday 11 September 2022
Show More

10am-5pm


Cost

Paid
  • Member FREE
  • Adult $24.50
  • Seniors and Community Card holder $19.50
  • Student (with Student ID) $19.50
  • Child (12 and under) FREE (all children 14 and under must be accompanied by an adult)

Bookings

https://aucklandartgallery-premier.eventfinda.co.nz/2022/gilbert-george/auckland
09 379 1349

For priority entry on a particular date, please buy your ticket in advance via Eventfinda

Gilbert & George: The Tāmaki Makaurau Auckland Exhibition 2022
Gilbert & George Union Dance (detail) 2008, Courtesy ARNDT Collection

Often controversial, sometimes cheeky and always questioning, British artists Gilbert & George have been creating art together ever since they met in 1967 at one of London’s leading art schools. From the very beginning, they have appeared as subjects in their own art and shared a belief in ‘Art for all’.

For Gilbert & George anything – and everything – is a potential subject matter for art. They have peered closely at the big questions of life: religion, sex, violence, hope, addiction and death. Through their films and ‘LIVING SCULPTURE’, they have challenged taboos, fought artistic convention and taken a fresh look at the way we live now. From their own bodies to their long-time home in London’s East End, nothing is too personal or too forbidden for these two artists whose work is a portrait of life today.

Developed exclusively with Gilbert & George by Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki, The Tāmaki Makaurau Auckland Exhibition brings together existing and new work from the 21st century to look back over a joint career that has courted controversy, challenged the status quo and championed alternative views. Exhibiting work direct from Gilbert & George’s own personal collection, it brings some of the most exciting of British art to New Zealand for the very first time.

Please note: This exhibition contains some content that may cause offence.

Back to Events