Wa:Hine – Wai:Rua

Where

Corban Estate Arts Centre, 2 Mt Lebanon Lane, Henderson, Auckland

Homestead Galleries

Show map

When

Tuesday 28 June 2022
Wednesday 29 June 2022
Thursday 30 June 2022
Friday 1 July 2022
Saturday 2 July 2022
Sunday 3 July 2022
Monday 4 July 2022
Tuesday 5 July 2022
Wednesday 6 July 2022
Thursday 7 July 2022
Friday 8 July 2022
Saturday 9 July 2022
Sunday 10 July 2022
Monday 11 July 2022
Tuesday 12 July 2022
Wednesday 13 July 2022
Thursday 14 July 2022
Friday 15 July 2022
Saturday 16 July 2022
Sunday 17 July 2022
Monday 18 July 2022
Tuesday 19 July 2022
Wednesday 20 July 2022
Thursday 21 July 2022
Friday 22 July 2022
Saturday 23 July 2022
Sunday 24 July 2022
Show More

10am-4.30pm


Cost

Free

Contact

Holly Vaihu
holly@ceac.org.nz
021 510 800

Wa:Hine – Wai:Rua
Wa:Hine – Wai:Rua Ashlee Tawhiti. Courtesy of the artist.

Through harakeke, light and uku (clay), Ashlee Tawhiti (Ngāti Porou, Ngāi Te Rangi) creates an immersive space for meditative thought and contemplation.

Referencing the twin stars in the Matariki cluster, Waitī and Waitā, representing the ocean and fresh waters, Tawhiti acknowledges the vital role of water mixed with earthly ochres that bring alive local clays.

Symbolising Papatūānuku and the creation of Hineahuone (the first human woman) from whom we are part, Wa:Hine – Wai:Rua explores the ancient callings of the feminine and acknowledges the cyclic inevitabilities that are realised through the Whenua and natural materials, calling us to connect.

This exhibition is part of Matariki Festival 2022.

Back to Events