Curator Tours of Heavenly Beings

Where

Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki, corner Wellesley and Kitchener streets, Auckland City Centre

Show map

When

Sunday 14 August 2022
Sunday 21 August 2022
Thursday 25 August 2022
Saturday 27 August 2022
Thursday 1 September 2022
Sunday 4 September 2022
Thursday 8 September 2022
Saturday 10 September 2022
Thursday 15 September 2022
Sunday 18 September 2022
Show More

1.45pm-2.30pm


Cost

Paid
  • Adult $24.50
  • Student/Concession $19.50
  • Member Free

Ticket price includes access to the exhibition

Curator Tours of Heavenly Beings
Mother of God and Saint Joseph with the Archangels Gabriel and Michael, on loan from a private collection, Canberra

Heavenly Beings: Icons of the Christian Orthodox World introduces the tradition of the devotional art of the Christian Orthodox faith in an exhibition of icons drawn from across the world.

As an exclusive add-on to your experience of this exhibition, we are pleased to offer guided tours by curator, Dr Sophie Matthiesson.

Learn about the fascinating history, meanings and devotional uses of icons, and about the making of this extraordinary exhibition.

Duration approx. 40 mins with time for questions/discussion at end. Folding stools available.

These tours are limited in numbers so please book beforehand to avoid disappointment. Ticket price includes access to the exhibition.

Back to Events