My Dream Called Sike

Where

Fresh Gallery Ōtara, 5/46 Fair Mall, Ōtara, Auckland

Show map

When

Friday 12 August 2022
10am-5pm


Saturday 13 August 2022
8am-2pm


Tuesday 16 August 2022
10am-5pm


Wednesday 17 August 2022
10am-5pm


Thursday 18 August 2022
10am-5pm


Friday 19 August 2022
10am-5pm


Saturday 20 August 2022
8am-2pm


Tuesday 23 August 2022
10am-5pm


Wednesday 24 August 2022
10am-5pm


Thursday 25 August 2022
10am-5pm


Friday 26 August 2022
10am-5pm


Saturday 27 August 2022
8am-2pm


Tuesday 30 August 2022
10am-5pm


Wednesday 31 August 2022
10am-5pm


Thursday 1 September 2022
10am-5pm


Friday 2 September 2022
10am-5pm


Saturday 3 September 2022
8am-2pm


Tuesday 6 September 2022
10am-5pm


Wednesday 7 September 2022
10am-5pm


Thursday 8 September 2022
10am-5pm


Friday 9 September 2022
10am-5pm


Saturday 10 September 2022
8am-2pm


Tuesday 13 September 2022
10am-5pm


Wednesday 14 September 2022
10am-5pm


Thursday 15 September 2022
10am-5pm


Friday 16 September 2022
10am-5pm


Saturday 17 September 2022
8am-2pm


Show More


Cost

Free

Contact

Dilohana Lekamge
dilohana.lekamge@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz
09 261 8030

My Dream called Sike

My Dream Called Sike is a collaborative exhibition supported by Unfold, a collective that unlocks the creative brilliance of the rangatahi in South Auckland and shares their untold stories.

This exhibition is curated by the UCB (Unfold Creative Block), a subgroup of Unfold.

My Dream Called Sike is an exploration of the mutually influential relationship between us and our dreams.

This encompasses the dreams we experience when we sleep, the dreams that guide our future, the dreams we have of rewriting our narratives, and the dreams that protect us.

These are dreams of self-determination and escapism that are fanciful, rich, and drawn from within.

Using the expression ‘sike,’ playfully meaning ‘I tricked you’ to suggest that all personal eventualities being subject to change.

Focusing on the vulnerabilities of each artist, this exhibition investigates the unique way their conscious and subconscious psyches interpret the world.

Asking the question; are we in control of our dreams, or are they in control of us? 

Back to Events