Ukraine: The Cost of Freedom

Where

Auckland Museum, Auckland Domain, Parnell, Auckland

Te Taunga Community Hub, Grand Foyer

Show map

When

Tuesday 27 September 2022
10am-8.30pm


Wednesday 28 September 2022
10am-5pm


Thursday 29 September 2022
10am-5pm


Friday 30 September 2022
10am-5pm


Saturday 1 October 2022
10am-5pm


Sunday 2 October 2022
10am-5pm


Monday 3 October 2022
10am-5pm


Tuesday 4 October 2022
10am-8.30pm


Wednesday 5 October 2022
10am-5pm


Thursday 6 October 2022
10am-5pm


Friday 7 October 2022
10am-5pm


Saturday 8 October 2022
10am-5pm


Sunday 9 October 2022
10am-5pm


Monday 10 October 2022
10am-5pm


Tuesday 11 October 2022
10am-8.30pm


Wednesday 12 October 2022
10am-5pm


Thursday 13 October 2022
10am-5pm


Friday 14 October 2022
10am-5pm


Saturday 15 October 2022
10am-5pm


Sunday 16 October 2022
10am-5pm


Monday 17 October 2022
10am-5pm


Tuesday 18 October 2022
10am-8.30pm


Wednesday 19 October 2022
10am-5pm


Thursday 20 October 2022
10am-5pm


Friday 21 October 2022
10am-5pm


Saturday 22 October 2022
10am-5pm


Sunday 23 October 2022
10am-5pm


Show More


Cost

Free

Museum entry is free for Aucklanders

Contact

Auckland Museum
info@aucklandmuseum.com
09 309 0443

Ukraine: The Cost of Freedom
Image credit: Sergii Mykhalchuk

Curated by Ukrainians in New Zealand, Ukraine: The Cost of Freedom is a photographic exhibition offering a recent glimpse of life from the frontline of the devastating war against Russian forces.

These extraordinary and sometimes harrowing images captured by some of the most prominent Ukrainian photographers shed light on the pain and struggle of Ukrainian citizens, who have been resisting Russian invasion for many months. 

Exhibited internationally, the photographs include those taken along the high-risk 1,000km frontline, showing the destruction resulting from the attacks, with ruins of Ukrainian cities now laid in rubble.

Since the invasion began in February of this year, more than 120,000 residential buildings, 2,000 schools and 700 hospitals have been destroyed or severely damaged. Thousands of lives have been lost, including more than 350 children, and more than 12 million Ukrainians have fled their homes seeking safety. 

Everything you will see and experience in this gallery has been chosen by members of the Ukrainian community to tell their own story.

Visit Ukraine: The Cost of Freedom to gain deeper insight into the human cost of this current-day war. 

Late night Tuesdays until 8.30pm.

CONTENT ADVISORY: Ukraine: The Cost of Freedom may not be suitable for children aged under 15 years. The exhibition contains graphic and confronting content, and includes a separate sign-posted section with photographs depicting explicit harm to adults and children.

Back to Events