Bach Musica NZ: Durufle Requiem, Piazzolla Tangos, Tolnay


Great Hall, Auckland Town Hall, Queen Street, Auckland City Centre

Show map


Sunday 18 September 2022


  • Adult $30-$70
  • Student (under 16 years and students with valid ID) $15-$55
Bach Musica NZ: Durufle Requiem, Piazzolla Tangos, Tolnay

Bach Musica NZ presents Durufle Requiem, Tolnay Symphony 2019 (world premiere) and Piazzolla Adios Nonino & Escolaso 

Durufle Requiem 
Tolnay Symphony 2019 (world premiere) 
Piazzolla Adios Nonino & Escolaso 

Rita Paczian conductor 

Stephanie Poole Accordion 
Elisha Hulton Mezzo Soprano 
Robert Tucker Baritone 
Both pieces by tango Argentinian composer Astor Piazzolla feature solo accordion and orchestra. Adiós Nonino (Farewell, father) was written in 1959 in memory of his father, Vicente “Nonino”. Piazzolla’s tango Escolaso is equally famous. 

We are proud to present the world premiere of Symphony 2019 by Hungarian-NZ composer Gabor Tolnay. Gabor is a jazz pianist and composer based in Nelson. His Symphony 2019 was inspired by his late wife Judit. 

Durufle’s moving Requiem, published in 1948, is the main piece in this concert. It features two vocal soloists, chorus and a big symphony orchestra. The piece is regarded as one of the outstanding choral works of the 20th century. 

Back to Events