Switzerland

Where

ASB Waterfront Theatre, 138 Halsey Street, Wynyard Quarter

Show map

When

Tuesday 19 September 2023
7pm-8.35pm


Wednesday 20 September 2023
7pm-8.35pm


Thursday 21 September 2023
7pm-8.35pm


Friday 22 September 2023
8pm-9.35pm


Saturday 23 September 2023
8pm-9.35pm


Sunday 24 September 2023
4pm-5.35pm


Tuesday 26 September 2023
7pm-8.35pm


Wednesday 27 September 2023
7pm-8.35pm


Thursday 28 September 2023
7pm-8.35pm


Friday 29 September 2023
8pm-9.35pm


Saturday 30 September 2023
2pm-3.35pm

8pm-9.35pm


Sunday 1 October 2023
4pm-5.35pm


Tuesday 3 October 2023
7pm-8.35pm


Wednesday 4 October 2023
7pm-8.35pm


Thursday 5 October 2023
7pm-8.35pm


Friday 6 October 2023
8pm-9.35pm


Saturday 7 October 2023
8pm-9.35pm


Show More


Cost

Paid

$20-$104

Bookings

https://bit.ly/3Duu8w6
0800282849
boxoffice@atc.co.nz

Audio-Described: Sun 1 Oct 4pm
NZSL-Interpreted: Sat 30 Sep 8pm
Pay What You Wish: Tue 26 Sep 7pm
Sunday Forum: Sun 24 Sep 4pm

Available as an Auckland Theatre Company subscription package. Single tickets go on sale on 1 February 2023.

Switzerland_Press_HERO_Square_No_Title_gzkktjji.jpg

Auckland Theatre Company presents
Switzerland
by Joanna Murray-Smith


A pitch-perfect thriller, underpinned with cunning twists and a knockout performance by the great Sarah Peirse.

“The past sits on our shoulder taunting us. Challenging us. To murder it.”

She was best-selling and she was brilliant. With The Talented Mr. Ripley, Patricia Highsmith once created one of the greatest literary characters of the 20th century: terrifying, enigmatic, complex, human. A bit like her really.

These days, she’s living as a recluse in the Swiss Alps. She’s done with writing, having firmly slammed the door on the Dead White Males of the American literary establishment. She fills her days with cats and show tunes, chain-smoking as she nurses her ever-growing collection of antique weapons.

But, now, there is a young man standing in her study. He’s been sent by her publisher to convince her to pen one last Tom Ripley novel. And he’s not going to take no for an answer.

What starts as a simple game of cat and mouse becomes a breathtaking battle of wits as Highsmith and her visitor interrogate identity and the art of creation. Crackling with intelligence and bristling with tension, this enthralling meta-thriller is a white-knuckle ride to the finish.

From Honour to The Female of the Species, playwright Joanna Murray-Smith has dazzled Auckland audiences with her robust plotting and lacerating wit. As it dances with the very idea of fiction, Switzerland proves itself as a truly novel experience.

Back to Events