O le Pepelo, le Gaoi, ma le Pala’ai | The Liar, the Thief, and the Coward

Where

ASB Waterfront Theatre, 138 Halsey Street, Auckland City Centre

Show map

When

Tuesday 5 March 2024
7pm-9.30pm


Wednesday 6 March 2024
7pm-9.30pm


Thursday 7 March 2024
7pm-9.30pm


Friday 8 March 2024
8pm-10.30pm


Saturday 9 March 2024
8pm-10.30pm


Sunday 10 March 2024
4pm-6.30pm


Tuesday 12 March 2024
7pm-9.30pm


Wednesday 13 March 2024
7pm-9.30pm


Thursday 14 March 2024
7pm-9.30pm


Friday 15 March 2024
8pm-10.30pm


Saturday 16 March 2024
8am-10.30pm

2pm-4.30pm


Sunday 17 March 2024
4pm-6.30pm


Tuesday 19 March 2024
7pm-9.30pm


Wednesday 20 March 2024
7pm-9.30pm


Thursday 21 March 2024
7pm-9.30pm


Friday 22 March 2024
8pm-10.30pm


Saturday 23 March 2024
2pm-4.30pm

8pm-10.30pm


Show more


Cost

Paid

$30 - $69 - Pay What You Wish

O_Le_Pepelo_Press_A4_Landscape_With_Title_aa0i4cio.jpeg

A darkly comic exploration of the fa’a sāmoa, where family, leadership and legacy converge in spectacular chaos.

“You’re not going to live forever. If you cark it tomorrow, who’s going to lead?”

In Sāmoa’s not-so-distant past, Pili Sā Tauilevā is a proud Ali’i (chief) in the village of Moa. He has devoted his life to the sacred fa’a sāmoa tradition of service. When he suddenly falls gravely ill and refuses to name a successor, his daughter and son become rivals for the title.

In a sacred paradise where “your path to leadership is through service”, Pili’s dwindling light sends the family into overdrive to keep the fire going. But nothing plays out as expected when others come out to join the race.

Power, politics and tradition collide in this darkly comic piece by Natano Keni (Sāmoa/Aotearoa) and Sarita So (Khmer/Aotearoa). It is a commentary on the growing divide between those who have chosen to stay and those who have chosen to leave.

Using both English and Gagana Sāmoa, O le Pepelo, le Gaoi, ma le Pala’ai | The Liar, the Thief, and the Coward is a modern tale of a man who’s out of step with the times and whose time is running out. Who then will survive?

A collaboration between Auckland Theatre Company, Auckland Arts Festival and I Ken So Productions.

Back to Events