Media contacts

The contact details below are for journalists and other media professionals.

Auckland Council media contacts

Auckland Emergency Management

During an emergency response or civil defence emergency, the Public Information Management (PIM) duty phone will be activated. Please phone 021 837 176 to speak to the PIM duty manager.

At all other times, for general Auckland Emergency Management inquiries, please contact the Auckland Council media team.

Office of the Mayor

Media and Communications Manager
Will Edmonds
Phone: 021 826 925
Email: will.edmonds@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz

Auckland Council media team

Please direct your media query to the contact listed below.

If you are unsure, or your query doesn't fit into one of the categories, please contact Tracie Simpson, Media Relations Manager, on 022 5257445 or tracie.simpson@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz 

If you have an emergency query between 5pm Friday and 8.30am Monday, or during public holidays, phone the on-call number on 
021 199 00 55.

Please note as many of our operational staff do not work outside core business hours, only urgent queries will be responded to. 

All other enquiries will be dealt with when we are back in the office during business hours.

These contact details are for use by members of the media only. If you are a member of the public, please contact the Auckland Council call centre on 09 301 0101.

Tracie Simpson, Media Relations Manager

Phone: 022 525 7445
Email: tracie.simpson@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz

Contact for:

  • Governance
  • Legal
  • Finance (including Procurement, Treasury, Corporate Property and ICT)
  • Engineering (including Coastal Management)

Anna Kellett, Senior Media Adviser

Phone: 021 484 037
Email: anna.kellett@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz

Contact for:

  • Healthy Waters
  • Licencing & Regulatory Compliance, including Animal Management, Food Grading and Noise Control
  • Safeswim
  • Waste Solutions
  • Biosecurity & Biodiversity

Sharne Parsons, Senior Media Adviser

Phone: 021 549 894
Email: sharne.parsons@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz

Contact for:

  • Building Control
  • Planning
  • Resource Consents

Please note, Sharne works Tuesday - Friday.

Tarannum Shaikh, Media Adviser

Phone: 021573286
Email: tarannum.shaikh@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz

Contact for:

  • Arts
  • Cemeteries
  • Community venues
  • Emergency management
  • Events
  • Libraries
  • Pools & Leisure
  • Parks 
  • Community Facilities

CCO media contacts

Auckland Transport

Media Relations Manager
Mark Hannan
Phone: 021 817 995
Email: mark.hannan@aucklandtransport.govt.nz

Media Adviser
John Nottage
Phone: 021 195 2675
Email: john.nottage@at.govt.nz

Senior Media Adviser - Walking, Cycling and Road Safety
Joanna Glasswell
Phone: 021 907 642
Email: joanna.glasswell@at.govt.nz

Communications and Public Affairs Manager
Wally Thomas
Phone: 021 593 412
Email: wally.thomas@aucklandtransport.govt.nz


Auckland Tourism, Events and Economic Development

Screen, film, investment, tripartite and corporate enquiries

Media Manager
Chris Gregory

Phone:027 292 3601
Email: chris.gregory@aucklandnz.com

Destination
Anika Forsman
Phone: 022 026 1130
Email: anika.forsman@aucklandnz.com

Economic Development
Melanya Burrows
Phone: 021 986 710
Email: melanya.burrows@aucklandnz.com

Screen Industry
Lester Thorley
Phone: 021 829 741
Email: lester.thorley@aucklandnz.com


Panuku Development Auckland

Director Corporate Affairs
Angelika Cutler
Phone: 027 474 3695
Email: angelika.cutler@panuku.co.nz


Regional Facilities Auckland

External relations director
Paul Brewer
Phone: 021 532 920
Email: paul.brewer@rfal.co.nz


Watercare Services

Communications Manager
Rachel Hughes
Phone: 021 826 856
Email: communications@water.co.nz