Media contacts

The contact details below are for journalists and other media professionals.

If you are a member of the public, please contact the Auckland Council call centre on 09 301 0101.

Auckland Council media contacts

Auckland Emergency Management

During an emergency response or civil defence emergency, the Public Information Management (PIM) duty phone will be activated. Please phone 021 837 176 to speak to the PIM duty manager.

At all other times, for general Auckland Emergency Management inquiries, please contact the Auckland Council media team.

Office of the Mayor

Media and Communications Manager
Will Edmonds
Phone: 021 826 925
Email: will.edmonds@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz

Auckland Council Media Team

Please direct your media query to one of the team listed below.

Please note we operate an on-call system at the weekends and public holidays. For time-sensitive queries, please call the on-call number on 021 199 0055. If the enquiry is non-urgent we will look forward to working with you once we’re all back online on a Monday.

Katherine Forbes, Head of Public Affairs

Phone: 021 872 680
Email: Katherine.forbes@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz

Contact for:

  • Governance
  • People and Performance
  • Diversity and Inclusion
  • Legal
  • RIMU
  • City Centre

Eileen Cameron, Senior Media Specialist

Phone: 021 527 894
Email: eileen.cameron@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz

  • Finance
  • Procurement
  • Corporate Property
  • ICT
  • Policy
  • Sustainability
  • Waste Management
  • Chief Economist
  • Climate Change
  • Environmental Health
  • Animal Management
  • Alcohol Licensing
  • Food grades
  • Compliance

Sharne Parsons, Senior Media Specialist 

Phone: 021 549 894
Email: sharne.parsons@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz 

  • Resource consents
  • Building consents
  • Planning
  • Parks
  • Kauri Dieback
  • Urban Growth

Tarannum Shaikh, Media Specialist

Phone: 021 573 286
Email: tarannum.shaikh@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz

  • Biodiversity and Biosecurity
  • Pools and Leisure
  • Libraries
  • Arts
  • Community Places
  • Events
  • Healthy Waters

CCO media contacts

Auckland Transport

Media Relations Manager
Mark Hannan
Phone: 021 817 995
Email: mark.hannan@aucklandtransport.govt.nz

Senior Communications Advisor
Active modes - cycling and walking enquiries
Steph Hill
Phone: 021 531 819
Email: steph.hill@aucklandtransport.govt.nz

Communications and Public Affairs Manager
Wally Thomas
Phone: 021 593 412
Email: wally.thomas@aucklandtransport.govt.nz

Senior Media Advisor
Natalie Polley
Phone: 021 569 194
Email: natalie.polley@at.govt.nz

Senior Media Advisor
Josh McConnell
Phone: 021 353 084
Email: Josh.McConnell@at.govt.nz


Auckland Tourism, Events and Economic Development

Screen, film, investment, tripartite and corporate enquiries

Media Manager
Chris Gregory

Phone:027 292 3601
Email: chris.gregory@aucklandnz.com

Destination
Anika Forsman
Phone: 022 026 1130
Email: anika.forsman@aucklandnz.com

Economic Development
Melanya Burrows
Phone: 021 986 710
Email: melanya.burrows@aucklandnz.com

Screen Industry
Lester Thorley
Phone: 021 829 741
Email: lester.thorley@aucklandnz.com


Panuku Development Auckland

Lisa Franklin
Phone: 021 198 5954
Email: lisa.franklin@panuku.co.nz


Regional Facilities Auckland

External Relations Director
Paul Brewer
Phone: 021 532 920
Email: paul.brewer@rfal.co.nz


Watercare Services

Communications Manager
Rachel Hughes
Phone: 021 826 856
Email: communications@water.co.nz