Local heritage champions celebrated

Devonport-Takapuna Local Board deliver Auckland's first ever local board Heritage Awards

Last Updated : 05 Oct 2016
Inaugural Heritage Award winners announced

On Sunday 29 November at the Esplanade Hotel in Devonport, the Devonport-Takapuna Local Board celebrated its inaugural Heritage Awards.

Two awards were presented – the Heritage Education Award, and the Heritage Champion Award.  

The Heritage Education Award was taken out by John Crews and Chris Owen of The Kennedy Park WWII Installation Preservation Trust. The award was given in recognition of trust’s long standing commitment to community education and heritage preservation at Castor Bay’s Kennedy Memorial Park.

John and Chris lead a small group of volunteers that run monthly open days, showing visitors the various tunnels and gun emplacements, and explaining the significance and purpose of the WWII defence structures.

They also provide information on the cliff located search bunkers, the observation post (now well used as a community centre), and the sole remaining WWII barrack.   

The Heritage Champion Award was awarded to Norma Bott and Debbie Dunsford of the Milford Residents Association for their protection, conservation, management and promotion of historic heritage in the Milford. 

Norma and Debbie have organised two popular Auckland Heritage Festival events at Milford Reserve. Their events included a fascinating photography exhibition, the teaching of old children’s games, the singing of traditional songs, an oral history of the area, and a historic vehicle display.

The two were also instrumental in the installation of artworks celebrating Milford’s heritage in the centre’s mini square.  The new, bright story panels have become a popular focal-point for local residents. 

Local board member, awards convenor and awards presenter Dianne Hale gave special thanks to the judging panel and voiced her hopes for future awards. 

“I would like to acknowledge our judging panel for their knowledge, expertise and support of these awards,” she said.

“They are Paddy Stafford-Bush, Chair of the North Shore Heritage Trust, Rod Cornelius, and well known and respected heritage architect Jeremy Salmond.” 

“It’s the board’s hope that these awards will grow year on year and become an established annual event, particularly as we have so many residents who are passionate about heritage and the role it plays in our community.”

Special thanks were also made to fellow board member, Grant Gillon, who provided the venue and refreshments free of charge. 


Back to News