Manurewa’s volunteers recognised

Publish Date : 27 Jul 2016
Manurewa's volunteers recognised1
The team from Manurewa Citizens Advice Bureau
Manurewa's volunteers recognised2
Anne Candy, QSO
Manurewa's volunteers recognised3
Katie Wood

Manurewa’s unsung heroes – its volunteers – were the stars of the show at the recent Manurewa Local Board Community Volunteer Awards.

Seventy-one nominations were received for the awards, which seek to recognise the individuals and groups that make a valuable contribution to the Manurewa community.

There were four categories in this year’s awards:

  • Local hero
  • Young person who makes a difference
  • Member of an organisation
  • Group or organisation that makes a difference.

This is the second year the board has held the awards, the first was in 2014.

Those nominated represented a range of organisations and activities. They ranged from local youngster Katie Wood, who has led the charge to remove litter from her local park and surrounding community, to organisations caring for older people, sports clubs, church, youth and support groups.

Community stalwart added to honours board

The local board also announced that the name of Anne Candy, QSO – will be added to the Manurewa Honours Board in recognition of her contribution to the community over many years.

A long-time councillor and deputy mayor (1998 and 2007) on the former Manukau City Council between 1998 and 2007, the Manurewa resident is a tireless and dedicated servant to her community.

She is passionate about education, and in particular creating pathways for girls and women in all aspects of their lives.

Among the many roles or community organisations she has been involved with are:

  • Honourable Patron of the Manurewa Returned Services Association
  • Māori Women’s Welfare League – life member
  • Te Ruku Tapa Church
  • Foundation Board of Trustee for Reremoana School
  • Led the charge for establishing Manurewa Christmas in the Park,
  • Involved in seeing the Education Centre Charitable Trust establish early childhood education centres and a teen parent unit, which continues to operate in Palmers

2016 Manurewa Volunteer Award recipients:

Rangi McLean, Bobby Bukove, Margaret Fairweather, Jack Davison, Lyn Morris (Manurewa RSA), Lilian Simnar, Kevin Richmond, Shelly Richmond (Manukau New  Life Church), Rick Hendricks, Hayley Hendricks (Manurewa AFC), Shiri Te Whata (Clendon Residents), Sarah Colcord (Manurewa Youth Council), Graham Falla (Friends of Totara Park), Neville Green (Teaching Gardens Trust), Angela Pua’avase, Heather Raudon (Manurewa Neighbourhood Support), Glenis Leota, Judy Presley, Anne Candy, Malcolm Wood, Leonard Bloksberg, Glennis Godfrey, Jan Piahana, Robert Taylor, Jaylene Ball, Neil McCarthy, Jeanette McCarthy (Auckland Botanic Gardens), Katie Wood and Taylor Taraare, Meg Appleby (Iosis), Lee Taniwha (Humans of South Auckland), Dave Fenton (Manurewa RSA), John Ballantyne (Grey Power), Christine Clark (Academy of Vocational Studies), Nadia Roache (StarJam), Raelyn Sullivan (Citizens Advice Bureau), Preston Fenton, Lee Manaia (Netball Manurewa), Kiripai Kuka (Senior Citizens Club), Noel Rust (Manurewa Lions Club),Tania Matthews (Rowandale School), John Quayle, Dawn Newton (Manurewa Rugby Club), Ang Shutkowski (Manurewa Football Club), Melissa Moore (Waimahia Landing Residents Group), Pat James (Manurewa Neighbourhood Support), Rita Smith (Netball Manurewa), Margaret Ayris, Roy Ayris, Stella Cattle, Ted Cattle (Age Concern) and John Chen (Manurewa Youth Council).

Te Wharekura O Manurewa, Breakfast Club, What Hope, Academy of Vocational Studies, Citizens Advice Bureau, Manurewa Youth Council and Manurewa WWI Committee – Manurewa RSA, Crimewatch Patrol.

Back to News