Final list of Auckland Council election candidates published

Publish Date : 21 Aug 2019
Vote Auckland

The final list of Auckland Council local election candidates has been published at

There are six additional local board candidates, bringing the total number of candidates to 423.

There are 21 mayoral candidates, 54 people vying for councillor roles, and 348 people contesting local board positions.

Two of the 13 wards - Franklin and Rodney - only have one candidate on the list. This means current councillors Bill Cashmore and Greg Sayers will be re-elected unopposed.

Two of the four local board subdivisions in Rodney - Dairy Flat and Wellsford - are uncontested. This means Louise Johnston and Colin Smith will be re-elected unopposed. 

Information about each candidate will be available on the voteauckland website from Monday 26 August.

Auckland Council consists of a mayor, 20 councillors and 149 local board members. A total of 468 candidates stood for council in 2016.

There are also 83 candidates for the three Auckland DHBs and 61 candidates for the five licensing trusts.

Back to News