Ōrākei students get creative with writing competition

Last Updated : 16 Sep 2019
Ōrākei students get creative with writing competition
Students participating in Win With Words at the St Heliers Library awards ceremony.

Students throughout Ōrākei have been getting creative with words.

The Win With Words story writing competition, run by Remuera Library for the last seven years and by St Heliers Library for the last four, has been a big success in 2019.

The competition, supported by Ōrākei Local Board, runs annually at both libraries and is open to Year 7 and 8 students who live in or attend schools in the Ōrākei local board area.

Students who entered the competition were asked to write a 500 word short story about anything they wanted.

Ōrākei Local Board supported special awards for stories with local themes; 'Your Maunga' at Remuera Library and 'On the Beach' at St Heliers Library.

The local board also funded creative writing workshops ahead of the competition hosted by well-known local children’s authors Stacy Gregg and Melinda Szymanik.
Children’s literature specialist Rosemary Tisdall judged the shortlisted stories and provided winners with valuable feedback at the prize-giving ceremonies.

Sue Jackson, manager of Remuera Library, says both libraries plan to run the competition again next year.

“Through Win With Words, we’re encouraging students to write creatively, celebrating their writing skills and ability to tell a story. The competition also encourages the use of our libraries as creative spaces.”

Schools that participated at St Heliers Library this year were Glendowie School, Churchill Park School, Dilworth School, Ōrākei School, St Heliers Primary and Stonefields School.

Schools participating at Remuera Library were King’s School, St Kentigern Boys’ School, St Kentigern Girls’ School, Baradene College of the Sacred Heart, Ōrākei School, Ellerslie School, Dilworth Junior Campus, Mt Hobson Middle School, Stonefields School, Remuera Intermediate and Michael Park School.

Win With Words runs throughout Term 2 each year and students have until the end of Term 2 to submit their stories. Keep an eye on the Auckland Libraries website for information about next year’s competition.

Remuera Library

Year 7 winners
First prize: Billy Simpkins, St Kentigern Boys’ School
Second prize: Luka Sipka, Kings’ School
Third prize: Gemma Beasley, Remuera Intermediate School

Year 7 runners up
Nathan Dick, Hugh Webber, Maxwell Clarke, Devannsh Gupta (all of St Kentigern Boys’ School), Aaron Leong (Ellerslie School) and Ava Bunn (Baradene College of the Sacred Heart).

Year 8 winners
First prize: Poppy Roberts, Remuera Intermediate School
Second prize: Aimee Waterhouse, Remuera Intermediate School
Third prize: Naru Simpson, Remuera Intermediate School

Year 8 runners up
Ella King, Naru Simpson, Tessa Morris, Janis Chua, Samuel Reeves (all of Remuera Intermediate School) and Nikita Nobre (Baradene College of the Sacred Heart).

Ōrākei Local Board prize for 'Your Maunga'
Zambesi Butler, St Kentigern Girls’ School
Eddie Biss, St Kentigern Boys’ School

St Heliers Library

Year 7 winners
First prize: Maddison Elliot, Churchill Park School
Second prize: Emma Bews-Hair, Churchill Park School
Third prize: Sylvie McLean, St Heliers Primary

Year 7 runners up
Rebecca Bowler, Joe Mackie, Emma Bews-Hair, Cassidy Ballentyne and Katherine Thomas (all of Churchill Park School).

Year 8 winners
First prize: Noah Quilt, Churchill Park School
Second prize: Alice MacLean, Glendowie School
Third prize: Natasha Buchalter, Stonefields School

Year 8 runners up
Gillian Le (St Heliers Primary), Clark Toatelegese (Dilworth Junior Campus), Lucia Calvert and Matthew Cross (both of Churchill Park School).

Ōrākei Local Board prize for 'On the Beach'
Lauren Lindfield, Ōrākei School
Marsha Shvarchuck, St Heliers Primary

Back to News