Mayoral Conservation Awards finalists announced

Publish Date : 05 Nov 2021
IMG 1522

The Mayoral Conservation Awards are an opportunity to celebrate the amazing work the conservation community is doing in Tāmaki Makaurau.

43 excellent nominations were received this year, demonstrating the determination and tenacity of Aucklanders to protect and restore our natural environment regardless of the challenges.

“Through the judging process, I’ve been incredibly inspired to see the extent of conservation mahi by dedicated community members across Tāmaki Makaurau,” says Councillor Pippa Coom, Deputy Chair, Environment and Climate Change Committee and a judge of the awards.

“As co-chair of the Hauraki Gulf forum, I’m especially pleased to see that many finalists from the Gulf Islands are being recognised for their work protecting and restoring our precious marine environment.”

The judges were extremely impressed with the calibre of the applications and were delighted by the commitment of the conservation community. Congratulations to our nine finalists in the three categories:




The winners of each category and the Penny Hulse Supreme Environment Award will be announced at the online ceremony on Thursday 25 November, 6-8pm.

Thank you to the judges of this year’s Mayoral Conservation Awards: Councillor Pippa Coom (Waitematā and Gulf ward, and Deputy Chair, Environment and Climate Change Committee), Saffron Toms (Chair, Waitakere Ranges Local Board), Gavin Anderson (Ngaati Whanaunga) representing the I&ES Mana Whenua Kaitiaki Forum and Rebecca Rush (Department of Conservation Operations Manager, Tāmaki Makaurau District).

Back to News