Auckland’s local elections candidates confirmed. Who will you be voting for?

Publish Date : 12 Aug 2022
Aucklanders On Picnic Blankets At An Outdoor Event

Update: additional four candidates are now confirmed in Auckland’s local elections.

Following the final scrutiny of nominations on Monday 15 August, one extra mayoral candidate, one more ward councillor for Waitākere and another two candidates for Waitematā and Henderson-Massey Local Boards have been validated to stand in Auckland’s local election.

“The additional names were received on time prior to the deadline, however due to nomination details that couldn’t be verified until after close of business on Friday – these nominees can now be confirmed as valid” says Dale Ofsoske, Electoral Officer from Election Services.
“Many candidates and nominators updated their details on the electoral roll at the last hour, which couldn’t be checked until Monday morning.”

This brings the total number of nominations to 466 – a record number of nominations since 2016 and exceeds 2019’s nominations by 10 per cent. Of those, there are now 23 mayoral candidates, 65 ward councillor candidates and 378 candidates for local boards. Yes, the race has officially begun as nominations for Auckland’s local elections are now closed and candidates have been confirmed.

“We are delighted with the overwhelming number of people keen to represent their communities, ensuring Aucklanders have choices in who they vote for” says Rose Leonard Auckland Council’s Manager Governance Services. 

This is the moment voters have been waiting for – to find out who they will be able to choose from when electing their representatives into office to lead Tāmaki Makaurau for the next three years.

See the full list of candidates here.

And to lead the strategic direction of New Zealand’s largest city, the following 23 candidates are now confirmed to be in the running for mayor:

  • John Alcock
  • Viv Beck
  • Gary Brown
  • Wayne Brown
  • Tricia Cheel
  • Efeso Collins
  • Michael Coote
  • Tony Corbett
  • James Malcolm Dunphy
  • David John Feist
  • Alezix Heneti
  • Robert Hong Hu
  • Ted Johnston
  • Michael Kampkes
  • John Lehmann
  • Lisa Lewis
  • Craig Lord
  • Pete Mazany
  • Michael Morris
  • Phil O'connor
  • John Palino
  • Ryan Earl Pausina
  • Dani Riekwel


Everything you need to know about the candidates you can vote for will be available on the Vote Auckland website from 5 September 2022.


Voting opens 16 September 2022 and closes midday 8 October 2022.

Back to News