Fresh chance to stand in two Auckland local board by-elections

Last Updated : 01 Mar 2018
Fresh chance to stand in two Auckland by-elections

Interested in representing your community and influencing decisions that affect your local area and make Auckland a great place to live?

Due to the passing of Waitakere Local Board member Denise Yates and the election of Josephine Bartley to  the Maungakiekie-Tamaki Ward from the Maungakiekie-Tāmaki (Tāmaki Subdivision) Local Board, nominations for candidates for the Waitakere Ranges and Maungakiekie-Tāmaki (Tāmaki Subdivision) local board by-elections are now open.

“This is a fantastic opportunity for anyone who thinks they have the skills and passion to represent their community to make a valuable contribution to Auckland,” says Auckland Council Electoral Officer Dale Ofsoske.

Nominations must be received by 12 noon on Wednesday 28 March and accompanied by a deposit of $200 GST inclusive.

For further information on criteria to stand and how to lodge your nomination, visit the Auckland Council website or contact the Electoral Office on 09 973 5212 or 0800 922 822.

Voting documents will be posted to eligible voters from Wednesday 2 May 2018, with voting closing at 12 noon on Thursday 24 May 2018.

 Key dates

  • Nominations open Wednesday 28 February 2018
  • Nominations close 12 noon, Wednesday 28 March 2018
  • Delivery of voting packs from Wednesday 2 May 2018
  • Close of voting 12 noon, Thursday 24 May 2018
Back to News