Finalists named for 2020 Howick Sports Awards

Publish Date : 26 Jun 2020
Finalists named for 2020 Howick Sports Awards
Spectators enjoy sports at Howick's William Green Domain

More than sixty finalists have been shortlisted for the 2020 Howick Sports Awards for the last year’s season.

The winners will be announced at an award ceremony on 29 June at Pakuranga United Rugby Club.

The finalists are a mix of Howick’s finest sportspeople across sixteen different categories.

Howick Local Board Chair Adele White says that the board is proud to honour the sporting stars in the community for their continuous commitment and efforts.

"These outstanding sportspeople have made incredible contributions in the past year as part of their respective clubs or teams.

"It is important to acknowledge the achievements of not only the sportspeople but also the efforts of hardworking people making it happen behind the scenes.

"We are looking forward to celebrating their achievement and wish them luck.”

The award ceremony is being organised by Pakuranga United Rugby Club with funding support from Howick Local Board.

Full list of finalists for the 2020 Howick Sports Awards:

Sportsman of the Year

Jethro Friend

TJ Faiane

Seth Gibson

Sportswoman of the Year

Vivian Lu

Coach of the Year

Sander Waterland

Shaun Clark

Monique Gapes

Mark Hodson

Masters of the Year

Presidents Team

Angela Hart

Service to Sport

Paul Mackenzie

Joanna Richards

Brian Wilsher

Sandra Paton

Carollynn Frew

Sue Miller

Danna Mandry

Dev Senthiya

Official of the Year

Cruiz Overend

Shaz Papesch

Carollynn Frew

Rachael Smith

Caitlin Kimpton

Club of the year

Howick Hornets Rugby League

Howick Softball Club

Pakuranga United Rugby Club

Bucklands Beach Tennis

Cockle Bay Tennis Club

Junior Team of the Year

BBAFC 13th Grade Metro

Blake Hinsley, Nicholas Drummond - Class: RS Feva Yachting

BDSC Premier Badminton Girls

Howick Softball U13 Girls

Howick Rhythmics Gym Club Competition Team

Team of the Year

Howick Hornets Rugby League Premiership Team

Macleans College Premier Golf

Auckland Ice Figure Skating Club Black Ice

Howick College Premier Mixed Touch

Junior Sportsman of the Year

Jack Chapman

James Trathen

Traye & Harrison Wildbore

Thomas Staples

Junior Sportswoman of the Year

Vivian Lu

Keana Farani

Madeleine Hunter

Marielle Venida

Nanise Waqaira

Administrator of the Year

Paul Matthews

Amanda Dyason

Cezanne Powell

Deirdre Frankle

Lincoln McKenzie

High School of the Year

Macleans College

Botany College

Primary/Intermediate School of the Year

Bucklands Beach Intermediate

Volunteer of the Year

David Becroft

Peter Donnelly

Tim Atkinson

Lynne Keohane

Lincoln McKenzie

Justin Green

Internationalist of the Year

James Wilson

Blake Hinsley, Nicholas Drummond - Class: RS Feva Yachting

Dalton Papalii

Theo Quax


Back to News