Talking Earth

Where

Homestead Galleries , 2 Mt Lebanon Lane, Henderson 0612

Show map

When

Wednesday 22 May 2024
Thursday 23 May 2024
Friday 24 May 2024
Saturday 25 May 2024
Monday 27 May 2024
Tuesday 28 May 2024
Wednesday 29 May 2024
Thursday 30 May 2024
Friday 31 May 2024
Saturday 1 June 2024
Monday 3 June 2024
Tuesday 4 June 2024
Wednesday 5 June 2024
Thursday 6 June 2024
Friday 7 June 2024
Saturday 8 June 2024
Monday 10 June 2024
Tuesday 11 June 2024
Wednesday 12 June 2024
Thursday 13 June 2024
Friday 14 June 2024
Saturday 15 June 2024
Monday 17 June 2024
Tuesday 18 June 2024
Wednesday 19 June 2024
Thursday 20 June 2024
Friday 21 June 2024
Saturday 22 June 2024
Show more

10am-4pm


Cost

Free
Rsteedman_ceac_003.jpg.960x690_q80_crop-smart_upscale_skq2umog.jpg

The Talking Earth exhibition by artist Rebecca Steedman will be free to view from the 3rd of May 2024 until the 22nd of June 2024 in the Homestead Galleries located at Corban Estate Arts Centre.

The opening for this exhibiton will be held on the 3rd of May 2024 from 6pm till 8pm and then it will be available for all to view from 10am till 4pm Monday to Friday until its last day on the 22nd of June 2024.

“One of my fondest memories as a child is hanging out with my Grandmother at her two storey 1970’s decorated duplex in St George street in Papatoetoe. She had a small bright garden full of flowers, and brighter orange patterned couches and table cloths and an impressive collection of china. She was always cooking for kids, and grandkids. The smell of her famous fudge made with crushed arrowroot biscuits as well as stewed apple and roast chicken and potatoes I’m sure has never left that house. She treasured Royal Albert fine china for Christmas, like many of her generation, but as one of the grand kids I would eat off the more practical yellow and mustered coloured Crown Lynn plates for everyday visits and meals. Those yellow plates, which I still eat off today, remind me so exactly of that time, of the brightness of the small kitchen.”

Talking earth comprises of a collection of pottery by Rebecca Steedman. Employing locally sourced materials, Rebecca incorporates irregularities that reflect the natural environment into her work, encouraging contemplation of the potential relationship between the landscape and contemporary dinnerware.  With each piece of pottery linking to a local place, Rebecca creates a unified series that embodies various locations across Tāmaki Makaurau. 

Drawing inspiration from her recent visit to, and childhood memories associated with, the Crown Lynn Museum, Rebecca investigates the significance contemporary dinnerware holds for us. The exhibition thus becomes a journey that explores the contemporary connections binding us to the plates and bowls we use for dining, the cherished company we share meals with, and the environments we select for our dining experiences. 

Back to Events