Breadcrumb navigation

Ōrākei Local Board receives gift for supporting club

Published: 10 December 2018

The Eastern Suburbs Association Football Club (ESAFC) has gifted Ōrākei Local Board with a special carving in recognition of the support the board has given to the club since 2010.

Ngāti Whātua Ōrākei’s master carver Denis Conway carved the metre-long work which is now mounted at Ōrākei Local Board’s office in Meadowbank.

ESAFC Chairman Chris Ruffle says the board saw the dire condition of the sports grounds used by the club and have consistently supported improvements and upgrades since 2010.

“They’ve overseen the draining, sand carpeting and implementation of irrigation of all of Crossfields Reserve, all of Glover Park, and the remaining fields at Madills Farm," he says.

"The installation of training lights at all those grounds also has benefited the club hugely. It has enabled the club to expand registrations from 2000 to 2600 members."

Kit Parkinson, Chair of Ōrākei Local Board, says they have been proud to support the club over the years as it is a vital part of the Ōrākei ward.

“Our board recognises the important role that sport has to play in the community. Sport and recreation clubs are hubs of community life; we want to ensure that children and people of all ages in our ward have the opportunity to be involved.

"By supporting the club to vastly improve their facilities and infrastructure, we’re helping to facilitate that."

The Eastern Suburbs Association Football Club welcomes new members. Visit their website to find out how you can get involved.


Have your say on how local parks are managed

Do you have ideas about how local parks in your community are managed, protected, developed and used now and in the future?

Have your say on your community’s future

Local boards are inviting Aucklanders to give them feedback on their draft local board plans to make sure they reflect what is important to you.

In Your Neighbourhood: Quintessential

The APO performing music by Mozart and Dvořák.