Lovers & Castaways

Where

The Arts House Trust, Pah Homestead, 72 Hillsborough Road, Hillsborough, Auckland, 1042

Show map

When

Wednesday 22 May 2024
9am-3pm


Thursday 23 May 2024
9am-3pm


Friday 24 May 2024
9am-3pm


Saturday 25 May 2024
8am-5pm


Sunday 26 May 2024
8am-5pm


Tuesday 28 May 2024
9am-3pm


Wednesday 29 May 2024
9am-3pm


Thursday 30 May 2024
9am-3pm


Friday 31 May 2024
9am-3pm


Saturday 1 June 2024
8am-5pm


Sunday 2 June 2024
8am-5pm


Tuesday 4 June 2024
9am-3pm


Wednesday 5 June 2024
9am-3pm


Thursday 6 June 2024
9am-3pm


Friday 7 June 2024
9am-3pm


Saturday 8 June 2024
8am-5pm


Sunday 9 June 2024
8am-5pm


Show more


Cost

Free

Koha entry

12_166_vaxqmp31.jpg
William D.Hammond, Head Bone, 1987, Oil stick, ink, acrylic and pencil on paper Collection of The Arts House Trust
FB Lovers & Castaways_wm0la4v0.png

Lovers & Castaways explores the decade in which Aotearoa experienced a shift in its social, political and economic landscape – the 1980s – through artworks drawn from the Arts House Trust Collection.

It was a decade in which artists sought to express what matters to them in greater fluency and confidence, with many of their concerns still resonating in the present day. Questions around nationhood, identity, what we value, and the country’s relationship with the wider world carry a timeless pertinence through artworks that showcase the diversity and depth in how artists sought to explore these concerns.

Presented in association with the Auckland Arts Festival.

Featuring the work of Gretchen Albrecht, David Armitage, Philippa Blair, Nigel Brown, Debra Bustin, Gavin Chilcott, Gordon Crook, Julian Dashper, Robert Ellis, Moyra Elliot, Jacqueline Fahey, Charlotte Fisher, Tony Fomison, Dick Frizzell, Joan Grehan, Bill Hammond, Philip Heath, Pat Hanly, Christine Hellyar, Louise Henderson, Ralph Hotere, Alexis Hunter, Michael Illingworth, Megan Jenkinson, Emily Karaka, Richard Killeen, Diana Lee Gobbitt, Ron Left, Allen Maddox, Joanna Margaret Paul, Buck Nin, Paul Rayner, John Reynolds, Michael Smither, Terry Stringer, Marte Szirmay, Alan Taylor, Kura Te Waru Rewiri, Greer Twiss, Jim Vivieare, Mervyn Williams, Brent Wong and more…

Back to Events