Where

Homestead Galleries, 2 Mt Lebanon Lane, Henderson 0612

Show map

When

Thursday 18 April 2024
Friday 19 April 2024
Saturday 20 April 2024
Sunday 21 April 2024
Monday 22 April 2024
Tuesday 23 April 2024
Wednesday 24 April 2024
Thursday 25 April 2024
Friday 26 April 2024
Saturday 27 April 2024
Show more

10am-4pm


Cost

Free
CEAC-web_Yahaan.jpg.960x690_q80_crop-smart_upscale_bgh1g3ab.jpg

The Exhibition Yahaan, featuring artists Brunelle Dias, Dilohana Lekamge, Gitanjali Bhatt, Rhea Maheshwari, Tarika Sabherwal, Tehnuka, Tiffany Singh and Vishmi Helaratne, will be available for all to view in the Homestead Galleries located at Corban Estate arts Centre from the 1st of March 2024 until the 27th of April 2024. The exhibition opening will be held on the 1st of March from 6pm until 8pm, and from the 2nd of March until the 27th of April, the exhibition will be free to view from 10am till 4pm Monday to Saturday. 

‘yahaan’, a Hindi/Urdu term meaning to be here, present and close, is the provisional study of departing on a journey and asking, ‘which way?’. Drawing from their personal experiences and observations, eight multidisciplinary artists speculate on the transient nature of being here.

yahaan suggests grounding or connecting to one’s particular environment, corporeal and intangible prior to departing towards the unexpected or alternative, as a reminder of one’s reality. It offers itself as a space of introspection, to refamiliarise and to acquaint oneself with their surroundings.

The artists reflect:

Seeking reorientation is synonymous with keeping in touch with our environment as and when it unfolds.

In exploring the politics of ‘being here’ as tauiwi, the artists also navigate ideas surrounding deep time and memory. Therefore, yahaan is not only a pointer to the present but also a signal that points towards things affecting it. Mapping across disparate perspectives, yahaan is a landing zone for artists to arrive and depart.

Back to Events